Bike City

I just came back from a visit to Montreal. I spent four days there, racing around the city trying to do and see as much as I could in a very short visit. My main means of transportation was un velo or the bicycle. What a fun city to ride a bike in! The bike paths were everywhere, the families riding bikes were in great supply, and if you didn’t have a bike of your own the Bixi bikes – essentially the best  kind of rental – could be found all around the city.

Need a Bike?

Need a Bike?

Unfortunately it rained most of my visit, so as you can see by the photos most of the riding was done in rather soggy conditions. Also the thing that I was really impressed with in Montreal was all the family biking. I saw a variety of trailers, and bike seats in use for kids large and small. I had fully intended to get some pictures of families on the move, but by my last two days the rain was falling hard and heavy and the biking was not for the faint of heart; the rain kept all the biking families out of sight.

Bikes by Night

Bikes by Night

 

Diptic3And if I haven’t had enough to say about bike awesomeness, here is a short and totally fun video made about biking in Montreal.

Leave a comment